Photo
- - - - -

Computer repair self taught?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
13 replies to this topic

#1 scaramouch

scaramouch

New Geek

• Registered
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 September 2006 - 03:44 PM

Hi :D ,I want to teach myself how to fix computers,I,m currently half way through a book on computer repair,it contains hardware and software.I would like to know where to start as far as what computers to work on first, i.e.,older ones,the same with software,learn the older software first,I only know XP.Should I buy old computers and take them apart,and how would I get hands on experience with older operating systems.What would be the absolute starting point be after I finished my book.Thanks

#2 Dave@Bytes

Dave@Bytes

Administrator

• Administrators
  • 33,415 posts

Posted 03 September 2006 - 04:01 PM

New hardware, old hardware--there isn't much difference in the composition of a PC from five years ago.

It's good to build a PC from scratch. If you're not sure what to buy, you can go online and look for a barebones computer--which means you can get a mobo, CPU, memory and other components and put them together yourself.

You can comparision shop here http://pctechbytes.pgpartner.com/

Regarding Operating Systems...I would learn a 9.x Operating System (like Windows 98 and ME). XP is current and quite similar to Windows 2000 Pro.

You should also invest in tools like a small PC repair kit and a multimeter to check voltages. You can also find them in the link above.

Good luck.

#3 scaramouch

scaramouch

New Geek

• Registered
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 September 2006 - 04:15 PM