Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Desktop won't turn on, blinking green light


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
21 replies to this topic

#1 AlexG

AlexG

    New Geek

  • Registered
  • 4 posts

Posted 15 April 2008 - 05:16 PM

Screen went blank, error indicating problem with hard drive. Ordered Recovery CD's from HP. A week later when I got them tried turning computer on but would not turn on. No beeps, no fan, nothing except low clicks with the blinking green light in rear next to power plug (HP Media Center M1000). Light turns solid green when I disconnect power switch from motherboard. HP tells me motherboard bad, must get new one $300+. I'm a rookie with computers. Pretty good with fixing other things around house in general. What's difference between hard drive and motherboard? Appreciate any help. Thanks.

#2 Random1

Random1

    VIP

  • Registered
  • 1,524 posts

Posted 15 April 2008 - 05:26 PM

A hard drive stores information.

A motherboard does most everything else. If you open up the computer, you will see a board (the motherboard!). It has the CPU, RAM, and a lot of other chips on it.

Every function is a continuous function. :)


#3 Ryans_CCS

Ryans_CCS

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 615 posts

Posted 16 April 2008 - 07:22 AM

I wouldn't pay $300.00 for a motherboard unless it is totally proprietary and nothing else can be used. Of course if you don't use their motherboard, and use another, the recovery CD's are useless, you would need a "normal" windows disk and use the oem authenticity code in the setup.

Computers Crash! Is Your Data Safe?
http://www.mozy.com

Free Computer Help Articles
http://www.ryansccs....puter-Help.html
http://hard-drives.ryansccs.com


#4 AlexG

AlexG

    New Geek

  • Registered
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 April 2008 - 11:09 AM

It was $300+ to send it to HP, they would return it as good as new. Once again, when i disconnected the power supply from motherboard the green light stayed on. Also, before I turned the computer off for a week (while I waited for the Recovery CD's), it was making a clicking noise. Does this mean I need a new motherboard?

#5 Ryans_CCS

Ryans_CCS

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 615 posts

Posted 16 April 2008 - 01:27 PM

Try disconnecting the hard drive. I don't like the description of clicking, being there are only a couple of items that would cause a clicking sound. Disconnect the hard drive from the motherboard (cable to the board) and unplug the power to it.

Let us know if it persists.

Computers Crash! Is Your Data Safe?
http://www.mozy.com

Free Computer Help Articles
http://www.ryansccs....puter-Help.html
http://hard-drives.ryansccs.com


#6 AlexG

AlexG

    New Geek

  • Registered
  • 4 posts

Posted 25 April 2008 - 11:56 AM

Replaced power supply, I now get activity. Clicking noise is back. Disconnected power supply from HDD only. Did not disconnect from motherboard. Turned computer on and the clicking went away. Weather the HDD is connected or not, get message "NO HARD DISK FOUND, SYSTEM RECOVERY CANNOT BE CONTINUED".... Thanks.

#7 c_w_robinson

c_w_robinson

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 358 posts

Posted 25 April 2008 - 12:00 PM

HDD failure. You will have to replace your hardrive and do a fresh install of the O/S.

#8 c_w_robinson

c_w_robinson

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 358 posts

Posted 25 April 2008 - 12:01 PM

You should be able to get an HDD for around $100.

#9 Ryans_CCS

Ryans_CCS

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 615 posts

Posted 25 April 2008 - 03:08 PM

I have a page now that has the sounds of what a hard drive sounds like when they mechanically die. Check it out and see if it is what you are hearing to confirm the failure.

Hard drive failure sounds:
http://www.ryansccs....a-Recovery.html

Computers Crash! Is Your Data Safe?
http://www.mozy.com

Free Computer Help Articles
http://www.ryansccs....puter-Help.html
http://hard-drives.ryansccs.com


#10 donnie3543

donnie3543

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 53 posts

Posted 25 April 2008 - 03:20 PM

You can get a hard drive for cheaper than $100, First look at the pictures and see what type of hard drive cable yours uses, than look at the drives below.

This is an IDE cable:
http://www.gshop.com...e_133_cable.jpg

This is a SATA cable:
http://www.gshop.com.../sata_cable.jpg



If it uses the wide IDE connector, this WD 80GB is only $39.99

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822144102

If it uses the small black SATA connector, this WD 80GB is only $40.99

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822135106

#11 Bama19642

Bama19642

    VIP

  • Registered
  • 3,945 posts

Posted 25 April 2008 - 04:19 PM

Choose the link on this site to go to pricegrabber and set the price range from 0 to 100 and you can get a 500gb SATA or IDE for under 100. It may be more than you need, but for the price per gb I would get the best value. And with a larger one you wont have to worry about installing a new one when an 80 gb gets full. If you really want to get one for as little $ as possible then go to ebay, open pricegrabber in a different window and you can compare prices as you go. Just choose ebay stores or Buy it now prices to avoid waiting to see what an auction price would finally be. And dont forget to consider shipping charges in the cost. Just make sure the ebay seller has a good feedback rating, most of the warranties will be from the mfg., but make sure they have a good return policy in case of misshipments or other problems.

Good luck, Bama.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]


University of Alabama, 2012 NCAA Football Champions. 3 out of the last 5, and the future looks great! Add Auburn and the State of Alabama is 4 out of 5 in football. Plus b2b UA Mens Golf, Softball and bunches of Gym Champs. 


#12 c_w_robinson

c_w_robinson

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 358 posts

Posted 25 April 2008 - 04:35 PM

Yea you can get HDD's for under $100 dollars, but it all depends on your harddrive size. 80gb are around $50, but maybe you are replacing a 500gb or 720Gb drive, in which case they are usually over $100, and where from $50 - $150 depending on size, or around $100 in general

#13 bucksfanjimj

bucksfanjimj

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 5,430 posts

Posted 26 April 2008 - 04:47 PM

Don't waste your time with Ebay. Third party purchases like that are too risky for computer parts. You have no clue what your really getting. CW, I just bought 2 500 GB HDD(SATA) at NewEgg for $100.00 each.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822148288

This one is IDE
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822148135

AlexG, bottom line is this, how big a HDD do you need and how much are you willing to spend. You will need to replace your current HDD sounds like. That 500GB sata I linked to is a heck of a deal for a HDD. You may not need or want one that big though. You decide and we can help you find one.

#14 c_w_robinson

c_w_robinson

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 358 posts

Posted 26 April 2008 - 09:52 PM

That is a sweet price for a 500gb SATA HDD.

#15 AlexG

AlexG

    New Geek

  • Registered
  • 4 posts

Posted 28 April 2008 - 11:31 AM

HP Parts Store selling HDD $187, 160GB, this is what it came with. Not sure about Fresh Install of the O/S. Since I'm buying from HP, and since I'm using their Recovery Disks, should't the HDD come with the O/S (XP)?

#16 c_w_robinson

c_w_robinson

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 358 posts

Posted 28 April 2008 - 11:59 AM

That would be a question to ask the HP Parts Store, but I think you would have to pay for a new license before they would load an O/S onto a new HDD, that isn't being replaced under warranty. But if you have the disc, a fresh install is quite simple and you would be saving a lot of money. $187 is expensive for a 160GB. 160GB are getting close to being obsolete. Its up to you, but assuming that your PC isn't covered under HP Warranty anymore (otherwise they'd replace the HDD for free), and you have the disc, I personally would save the $100.

The recovery disc holds the entire operating system on it, so a fresh install can be done.

#17 Bama19642

Bama19642

    VIP

  • Registered
  • 3,945 posts

Posted 29 April 2008 - 01:04 AM

I thought that restore disks only worked with original hd's. I've only owned one that came with those restore cd's and I thought they restored the OS from a small partition on the original hd. If you put a new OEM drive in the drive would not have the backup partion to draw the data from. I've always bought pc's from people who built to order this century, so I dont have any recent experience with the procedures involved, therefore I plead ignorant in this case. Hopefully someone will clear it up for me and I can learn something new.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]


University of Alabama, 2012 NCAA Football Champions. 3 out of the last 5, and the future looks great! Add Auburn and the State of Alabama is 4 out of 5 in football. Plus b2b UA Mens Golf, Softball and bunches of Gym Champs. 


#18 Ryans_CCS

Ryans_CCS

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 615 posts

Posted 29 April 2008 - 06:45 AM

Normally the restore disks are coded to the motherboards BIOS.

Computers Crash! Is Your Data Safe?
http://www.mozy.com

Free Computer Help Articles
http://www.ryansccs....puter-Help.html
http://hard-drives.ryansccs.com


#19 bucksfanjimj

bucksfanjimj

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 5,430 posts

Posted 29 April 2008 - 11:20 AM

Alex, this is what I would do. Go to NewEgg and get that 500 GB HDD and use your recovery discs and see what happens. If you must buy a new OS, go back to Newegg and get XP Home for $90 (Pro for 140.00). There you go $190 and you have tripled your hard drive space. Just make sure you get the right kind IDE or SATA. IDE has a 2" wide flat cable connected to it. A SATA cable is about 3/4" wide.

Recovery discs are sold separately from hard drives. You'll have to buy those as well unless you have a set in your possession already.

#20 c_w_robinson

c_w_robinson

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 358 posts

Posted 29 April 2008 - 11:34 AM

I keep reading about how recovery discs only work for certain hardware and this in that, but I have never once had an issue installing any big brand O/S disc on a computer that wasn't originally built by the same company. The fact is I've succesfully installed fresh installs of XP and Vista on a few different computers around my house, and they have all worked. Dell O/s, on Compaq, MGD o/s on IBM. Dell o/s on HP.... and so on. So it works. If you haven't tried it than how can you say it doesn't?

I don't reccomend installing a Dell disc on a Compaq however, because it is a form of piracy, but for a crashed HDD, on a HP, to replace the HDD, and use the HP o/s, is perfectly legal and will work.