Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Error 814 in Vista


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 gary1gk

gary1gk

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 79 posts

Posted 02 October 2009 - 06:27 PM

My nephew is running Vista (64bit) and gets an error code 814 when he tries to hook his desktop to the internet.

We hooked the LAN (?) wire into his laptop and connected just fine.

Will Registery defense work to fix this problem?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

#2 bucksfanjimj

bucksfanjimj

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 5,429 posts

Posted 03 October 2009 - 10:58 AM

List of Error Codes that you may receive when you try to make a dial-up connection or a VPN connection in Windows Vista

814
The underlying Ethernet connectivity required for the broadband connection was not found. Please install and enable the Ethernet adapter on your computer via the Network Connections folder before attempting this connection.

If this doesn't work, go into Device Manager and make sure it is enabled there.

#3 gary1gk

gary1gk

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 79 posts

Posted 03 October 2009 - 02:06 PM

List of Error Codes that you may receive when you try to make a dial-up connection or a VPN connection in Windows Vista

814
The underlying Ethernet connectivity required for the broadband connection was not found. Please install and enable the Ethernet adapter on your computer via the Network Connections folder before attempting this connection.

If this doesn't work, go into Device Manager and make sure it is enabled there.


Thanks Jim.....how do we install the adapter? I'm not sure where to find it.

#4 bucksfanjimj

bucksfanjimj

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 5,429 posts

Posted 03 October 2009 - 09:28 PM

Start> Network> Network and Sharing> Network Connections
Right click on Local Area Connection and choose Enable. Do the same for the
wireless connection if your nephew is trying to use wireless instead of the wired connection.

#5 gary1gk

gary1gk

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 79 posts

Posted 03 October 2009 - 10:46 PM

Awesome.....Thanks Jim:

We'll give that a try and see what happens.

He's trying to to use a wired connection.

#6 gary1gk

gary1gk

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 79 posts

Posted 04 October 2009 - 06:58 AM

We tried that......that's when the error 814 comes up. Along with a user ID and password box. He's said he's never set a user name or password.

I wonder if there's a way to get around this.

I haven't talked to him since he ran Registry defense.

Thanks :)

#7 bucksfanjimj

bucksfanjimj

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 5,429 posts

Posted 04 October 2009 - 11:33 AM

The only registry cleaner *I* trust is ccleaner. Find out when this error started to appear. Before or after he ran Registry defence. If it was after, see if he created a restore point or the program created a restore point. Use it to restore the old settings and see if the error disappears.

He may have to restart the pc and use Last Known Good Configuration. Start tapping F8 when the pc boots up to get to it. Back up any data beforehand, just in case.

A word of advice on the registry, it is not an area to be messing with if the user doesn't know what they are doing.

#8 gary1gk

gary1gk

    Senior Member

  • Registered
  • 79 posts

Posted 04 October 2009 - 01:40 PM

A word of advice on the registry, it is not an area to be messing with if the user doesn't know what they are doing.


Good point.:)

The problem started before he ran Registry defense.

That's a good idea about system restore. I have to get in touch with him and see if he got anything figured out.

Thanks for all your help Jim.