Photo
- - - - -

Wireless does not work but wired does

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 Chargers Fan

Chargers Fan

• Registered
  • 158 posts

Posted 12 March 2010 - 11:38 PM

Well I have a Gateway laptop running vista, the wireless was working. At the point itstopped the owner was accessing an internet site. The router in their home is showing all the correct lights and several devices are working through it. The laptop is online now through my dsl wired connection. I have not seen exactly what they have for equipment but a linksus icon is on the desktop. I am not good with vista but in connect to it says that the wireless connection is good and shows 4 bars. Any help is appreciated and I will hold off on overloading with info for now. Basically I was going to have them cycle their router but it is working for their other laptops.

#2 Chargers Fan

Chargers Fan

• Registered
  • 158 posts

Posted 13 March 2010 - 12:07 PM

I guess Vista is not so bad. I navigated around until I found device manager/network adapters/ and updated the driver for the wireless network connection. Rebooted and went right online. Our work is done here batman.

#3 Bama19642

Bama19642

VIP

• Registered
  • 3,945 posts

Posted 13 March 2010 - 10:45 PM

I didn't get your message until just a few minutes ago, so I dropped by to see what was happening. I'm glad you were able to find the trouble yourself. I don't know much about networking so it was nice to see my help wasn't needed. Good work Charger! There are plenty of times when just sitting there and using the computers resources will help fix a problem. That's basically how I learned a great deal about troubleshooting PC problems.

I've learned a lot more after using PCTB for a while. The people who know their stuff help me by telling others what to do, then I read it and pick up a little more every day.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]