• Welcome to PCTechBytes

Hello and welcome to PCTechBytes. We have been providing free computer repair help online since 2003. Feel free to browse the forums, but when you're ready to ask a question or comment, please be sure to register. 

Sign in to follow this  
Fede17

Loud Fan Noise & Black Screen

Question

Posted (edited)

For the past few months I’ve been having problems starting up my computer.

When I turn it on, as it’s loading windows, there’s a fan noise that grows steadily louder, and the screen blacks out before it reaches the login screen.

In the past, I’d be able to reach the login screen, and once logged on, the fan noise would die down as the desktop loaded, and then everything would run normally.

Now, I’m not an expert on computers, nor I have ever built one, but after running a temperature check in the past, and ran a few different heavy programs I used to use, like Autodesk Maya, and various video games, that same fan noise came up quite loudly, and I noticed the video card’s temperature spike up to a little over 100 degrees celsius, while the CPU stayed on an average 50 to 60 degrees celsius, so I kind of ruled that out as being the cause (I thought maybe the thermal paste wore off…).

Through common sense I came to the conclusion that it is my graphics’ card, and I would need to replace it.

This is the computer and it’s specs:

https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c02271779

(with the exception that I swapped the 8GB of ram with 16BG sometime last year)

I’d just like to know if I’m on the right track, or I got this all wrong.

Thank you.

Edited by Fede17

7 answers to this question