Sign in to follow this  

Hello all,

i am a convicted felon and cannot find much work. i have been looking into fixing and selling computers on ebay for cash. any good tips or suggestions? i am a rookie and just barley opening books

YouTube is a great resource to begin, as the videos SHOW you how to build a computer, but you may want to also pick up a good manual to have at your disposal. I like the A+Certification books, as they are good at teaching the basics of hardware, networking and Windows. Your local library is also a good place to find books without having to spend a ton of money. 

Best advice I can give is to get a cheap set of precision screwdrivers in a computer toolkit that has all of the prying tools and special bits you'll need to open any computer case. I'd then start taking apart and putting computers back together. Practice makes perfect. 

You will make more money repairing PCs that you will building them and selling them on eBay.  eBay is flooded with custom builds so the % markup cant be too high.  Fixing allows for a decent markup since it is mostly your time you are selling + the occasional part.  I would focus on troubleshooting and repair of Windows and PC hardware if I were you.  YouTube is a great resource to use.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

• Who Was Online

• Our picks